One Summer- Part 2: Him

 

It was the worst summer. I went to California to be away from everyone dear in my life, and unexpectedly, I found love instead. It was raining and I was on my way home when I saw a pretty woman sitting on a bench at the bus stop. It’s nearing midnight. How stupid can one be, waiting for a bus that late? Every part of my being screamed not to approach her, but I did anyway. Oh Damn! She wasn’t just pretty. She was gorgeous. Her hair was loose and I couldn’t see the color of her hair since the surroundings was dim, but I’m sure it was close to auburn. She has dimples on her cheeks and looked like an angel. Dear God. I should go away. “Why don’t we share my umbrella and walk you home?” Stupid egoistic moron. “Being the gentleman that I am, I could not afford to leave a woman unattended this late at night with thieves and bad people up and about. Why, madame, you just found yourself a knight in shining armor.”
I almost lost myself with her beautiful smile and it started from there.
We went on dates for days; I pick her up, bring her roses and daffodils, gives her random kisses while walking…

and suddenly..
and suddenly, I had to leave.

I couldn’t bear the thought of saying goodbye.
I left with no explanations.
No signs.
No anything.

I tried to forget her.
I wish I didn’t have to do it.
I wish I saw her with another man laughing across the streets or she could walk up to me and tell me she has a boyfriend.

Leaving would’ve been easier.

But with every fiber of my being, I’ve loved her and will continue doing so until the last seconds of my life.

And the worst summer turned out to be the best.
I went to California to die in peace knowing I only have few days left with my blood being poisoned from my sickness, and unexpectedly, I found love instead.

 

One Summer- Part 1: Her

Here’s the link 🙂

One Summer : Part 1- Her

 

 

Leave a comment